02 April 2016

Is A Non-Call In The Last 2 Minutes "Reviewable"?

The Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) has a very doubtful moves in the last couple of months, including the ban on import Ivan Johnson, coach Joe Lipa and journalist Snow Badua. To top it all, the PBA Board decided to rehire Rhose Montreal after it was revealed that she falsified her school records to make it appear that she finished with flying colors from the prestigious University of the Pbilippines.

Last 1 April, another foolhearted move was observed when the referees' decided to call a late offensive goaltending violation on Phoenix import Kevinn Pinkney that proved crucial in a 104-109 loss to Rain or Shine in a Commissioner’s game.

Referees waived off the Fuel Masters import's basket with 17.9 seconds left that should've put Phoenix up, 106-105, after a video review established Pinkney touch the net on his second jump.

Everything would have been acceptable if the officials did not act solely on a complaint by the Elasto Painters when there was no call made by the referees in the first place.

But deputy commissioner Rickie Santos explained the non-call was "reviewable" as it happened within the last two minutes of the game.

"Pwede i-review ng referees 'yun," Santos said in a short chat with Soin.ph after the game. "Nag-time out rin naman ang Rain or Shine."

The E-Painters eventually kept the lead at 105-104 owing to the call and held on for a 109-104 victory.

If this is really the case, then why did the PBA not reviewed the crucial 5-second violation made by the Global Port Batang Pier in the knock-out game against Barangay Ginebra last conference? It occurred in the last 2 minutes.

Why did the PBA ignore the travelling violation on LA Tenorio in the last two minutes of their game against Phoenix Petroleum Masters when it was clear that a violation happened in the critical stretches of the last 2 minutes and Phoenix called a timeout after a basket was made?

A quick review of the PBA rule book states that:
"REVIEW OF GOAL TENDING VIOLATION IN THE LAST 2 MINUTES — Any goal tending violation called in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s) shall be subject to automatic video review.

When a foul is called on a shot and a player touches the ball, basket or backboard and there is a chance to score, even if the referees do not call a goal tending violation, it shall likewise be subject to automatic review if it occurred in the last two (2) minutes of the fourth quarter and overtime period(s)."
Was there a foul called? Nope. So what is the meaning of all of this? An example of the sporadic inconsistent calls or just plain and simple favoritism?

No comments:

Post a Comment