04 February 2014

Draw Results for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup

2014 FIBA World Cup
The Official Draw for the 2014 FIBA Basketball World Cup took place on Monday evening at the Palau de la Musica Catalana.

Here are the four Preliminary Round groups, which each consist of six teams.

Group A (Granada): 1. Spain; 2. Serbia; 3. France; 4. Brazil; 5. Egypt; 6. Iran.
Group B (Seville): 1. Philippines; 2. Senegal; 3. Puerto Rico; 4. Argentina; 5. Greece; 6. Croatia.
Group C (Bilbao): 1. Dominican Republic; 2. Turkey; 3. USA; 4. Finland; 5. New Zealand; 6. Ukraine.
Group D (Gran Canaria): 1. Slovenia; 2. Lithuania; 3. Angola; 4. Korea; 5. Mexico; 6. Australia.

In attendance for this milestone event on the Road to Spain 2014 were distinguished guest including: the Mayor of the City of Barcelona, Mr Xavier Trias; the President of the High Council of Sport of Spain; the President of FIBA, Yvan Mainini; the President of the Spanish Basketball Federation, José Luis Saez; the Secretary General Emeritus of FIBA, Borislav Stankovic; the Secretary General of FIBA, Patrick Baumann.

Lending a helping hand in the draw procedure were international legends Juan San Epifanio ('Epi') of Spain, Croatia's Dino Radja, Puerto Rico's Jose 'Piculin' Ortiz and FIBA Hall of Fame inductee Jean Jacques Conceicao of Angola.

2006 FIBA World Champions Juan Carlos Navarro and Jorge Garbajosa were also among the more than 500 in attendance, along with Eduardo Kucharski, Jaume Bassó and Angel González Adrio, members of Spain's national team at the first FIBA World Championship in 1950.

They were joined by representatives of the participating team delegations – including head coaches of a dozen of the 24 teams - as well as members of the Spanish and foreign media.

No comments:

Post a Comment